Skip to main content

Instructors' guide: Add to Canvas

The Information Skills Team has developed instructions for teachers on how to add LibGuides content to your Canvas course. We invite you to use our instructions and welcome any suggestions you may have to improve these.

There are various ways to add guides and guide content from the EUR Library to your Canvas course. The method you choose will depend on what you want your students to see and where you want them to see it in the course. Here are some examples of what's possible.

What

How

Where

The complete portfolio Information skills

Redirect app

Give students a link to the portfolio
Information skills in the course menu.

Course navigation

Module Item - It's possible to reuse the newly added redirect as a Module Item (type External Tool). In this case you may want to hide (disable) the redirect in the course navigation.

Selected guides and guide content from the portfolio Information skills

Basic: The first set of guides in the portfolio Information skills are aimed at prospective, bachelor and pre-master students and those returning to study after a break.

Advanced: The second set of guides in the portfolio Information skills are aimed at master & PhD students.

LTI tool LibGuides – Erasmus University Library 

The LTI tool has a selector with dropdown menus that allows you to choose a complete Guide (Full LibGuide), an e-module from a guide (Single Page), or content from a page (Content Box).

Guides and guide content can be added to a Module as Module Item (type External Tool), or embedded in Pages or Assignments.
The overview of Guides per discipline

Redirect app

Give students a link to the complete list of EUR Library guides in the course menu.

Course navigation.
Selected guides and guide content from the Guides per discipline

LTI tool LibGuides – Erasmus University Library

The LTI tool has a selector with dropdown menus that allows you to choose a complete Guide (Full LibGuide), a page (Single Page), or content from a page (Content Box).

Guides and guide content can be added to a Module as Module Item (type External Tool), or embedded in Pages or Assignments.

Selected databases from the A-Z Databases list

LTI tool LibGuides – Erasmus University Library

Add a list of databases for a specific subject, with or without contact details of the subject specialist.

The LTI tool has a selector with dropdown menus that allows you to choose a list of databases for a specific subject.

Selected databases from the A-Z Databases list can be added to a Module as Module Item (type External Tool), or embedded in Pages or Assignments.

.

LibGuides icon

An easy way to add EUR Library guides and resources to your Canvas course is through Learning Technology Integration (LTI).

LibGuides – Erasmus University Library is an LTI tool for manually selecting and adding EUR Library Guides and A-Z Database resources to a Canvas course. You can add EUR Library Guides and A-Z Database resources to Modules, Pages or even Assignments in your Canvas course.

Add an information skills topic to a Module in Canvas

Say you want to add Build your search profile to a Module in your course. This topic is a page in the guide Explore and define your topic.

1. To add a new Module item to an existing Module, click on the plus (+) button.
2. Then, from the dropdown, select External Tool.
3. From the tool list select LibGuides - Erasmus University Library.
The dialog, LibApps Library Content Selection, appears.
4. Select LibGuides site, LibGuides - libguides.eur.nl
5. Use the dropdowns to select the content you want.

Use the dropdowns under Guides & Guide Content to look for information skills guides by the Information skills team.

Under Guides & Guide Content select: Single Page
Select Guide: Explore and refine your topic by Information skills team
and Guide Page: Build your search profile

6. Click Embed Content
7. Then click Add Item.
8. To view the content click the Module item title.

As teacher you get the choice to View Content or Edit Content.
Click View Content to see how the content is displayed to the student.

To delete the current selection and replace it with a new selection click Edit Selection and refresh the page (F5). The dialog, LibApps Library Content Selection will reappear and you can start a new selection. Once the new selection is added you may need to edit the title of the module item to match the new content.

9. Don't forget to Publish the Module item!

You can also use the dropdowns under Guides & Guide Content to select and add content from discipline guides and EDSC manuals.
The dropdowns under A-Z Databases allow you to select and add individual databases or subject selections of databases with or without contact details of the subject specialist. For more information see the PDF below.

Add a Guide to a Canvas Module Part 1

This soundless screen recording shows how to embed an EUR Library guide in a Canvas Module. In this example we choose to embed one of the Information skills guides.

Add a Guide to a Canvas Module Part 2: View Content & Item Details

This soundless screen recording shows how to view the Guide embedded in the Canvas Module and see how it works. We also show how to access the Item Details where you can review and edit the title and choose to present the content within Canvas or load it in a new browser tab.

Add a Guide to a Canvas Module Part 3: Edit Content & Item Details

This soundless screen recording shows how to edit the selection of the guide in the Canvas Module. We show how to replace the current selection with a a new selection and access the Item Details where you can edit the title to match the new selection and choose to present the content within Canvas or load it in a new browser tab.

Redirect icon

In Canvas, an external tool called the Redirect app allows you to add web resources to your course navigation.

Use the Redirect app to provide students a link in the course navigation to overview pages such as the EUR Library’s portfolio Information skills or the overview of Guides by discipline.

Name URL
Information skills https://libguides.eur.nl/informationskills
Library guides https://libguides.eur.nl/guides

To configure the app you specify Name, URL Redirect and check the box at Show in Course navigation.

Redirect app configuration

Loading ...

Support

Need more information about adding content to Canvas? Please contact Heather Boet-Foley, information specialist at the University Library and member of the Information Skills Team.

Related

View EUR Library guides and A-Z Database resources that you can add to your Canvas course: