New books in the collection philosophy - LibGuides at Erasmus University Rotterdam

Being We: Phenomenological Contributions to Social Ontology by Dan Zahavi

Call Number: e-book via Oxford University Press

Wildlife Ethics: The ethics of wildlife management and conservation by Peter Sandoe; Clare Palmer; Bob Fischer; Christian Gamborg; Jordan Hampton

Call Number: e-book via Wiley

Modern Social Imaginaries by Charles Taylor; Dilip Parameshwar Gaonkar (Series edited by); Jane Kramer (Series edited by); Benjamin Lee (Series edited by); Michael Warner (Series edited by)

Call Number: e-book via De Gruyter

Foucault's Theatres by Tony Fisher (Editor); Kélina Gotman (Editor)

Call Number: e-book via JSTOR

With Power Comes Responsibility: The Politics of Structural Injustice by Maeve McKeown

Call Number: e-book via Bloomsbury

ISBN: 9781350195790

Public things : democracy in disrepair by Bonnie Honig

Call Number: e-book via JSTOR

The Post-Truth Condition. Philosophical Reflections by Tarun Kattumana (editor), Simon Truwant (editor)

Handbook of the Anthropocene : humans between heritage and future by Nathanaël Wallenhorst (editor), Christoph Wulf (editor)

Call Number: e-book via Springer

Teaching women philosophers : ideas and concepts from women philosophers' writings over 2000 years by Ruth Edith Hagengruber (editor)

Call Number: e-book via Springer

Transnational feminism in non-English speaking Europe, c.1960-1990 by Agnes Andeweg (editor), Heidi Kurvinen (editor)

Call Number: e-book via Springer

Ethics of Artificial Intelligence by Francisco. Lara (Editor); Jan Deckers (Editor)

Call Number: e-book via Springer

The Tech Coup: How to Save Democracy from Silicon Valley by Marietje Schaake

Enlightenment's reformation : religion and philosophy in Germany, 1750-1830 by Michael Printy

Cicero by Malcolm Schofield

Call Number: Print - 08.21 Scho

Terms of Disorder: Keywords for an interregnum by Alberto Toscano

Call Number: Print - 08.45 Tosc

The Powerless Church and Other Selected Writings, 1955-1985 by Ivan. Illich; Giorgio Agamben (Foreword by); Valentina Borremans (Selected by); Sajay Samuel (Selected by)

Call Number: Print - 08.25 Illi

Recent Posts

Acquisitions April 2025

The Twilight of Politics by Mario TrontiCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.45 TronISBN: 9781803093741A classic work of political theory by a major twentieth-century figure of the Italian Left. Italian political thinker Mario Tronti is most famous for being the author of Workers and Capital, which became the central theoretical formulation of Italian operaismo or workerism, a current of political thought emerging in the 1960s that revolutionized the institutional and extra-parliamentary Left in Italy and beyond. In The Twilight of Politics, written originally in 1998, Tronti argues that modern politics, which reached its apogee in the twentieth century, has ended. Realism and Utopia, Tronti explains, were the foundational qualities of modern politics, which it always tried to clasp together. But behind this highwater mark of politics was a history over the longue durée, encompassing the wars of religion, Hobbes' Leviathan, revolution, great individuals, and popular movements, as well as innovations such as the nation-state and the party-form. Historically, the modern period is also a coming together of the categories of the political and the laws of political economy. At the heart of this book is Tronti's attempt to hold together a view of the course of political history with a critique of the "dictatorship of the present" to help us escape being "chained to the bars of an eternal present . . . which deprives us both of the freedom to look back and to see ahead." Critical Phenomenology: an Introduction by Elisa Magrì; Paddy McQueenCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.25 MagrISBN: 9781509541126Publication Date: 2022Phenomenology is one of the leading movements in twentieth-century philosophy and continues to exert a strong influence on many contemporary philosophical traditions and investigations. In recent years, phenomenological insights have been increasingly developed in relation to philosophy of illness, disability, race, gender, sexuality, and politics, leading to the emergence of critical phenomenology as a new, prominent field for interdisciplinary research. Magrì and McQueen's Critical Phenomenology: An Introduction is the first book of its kind, addressing the critical questions at the core of both classical and contemporary phenomenology. This book provides a concise, accessible introduction to key areas of phenomenological research, such as intersubjectivity, bodily experience, race, gender, social experience, and political action. In doing so, it demonstrates both the rich history of phenomenology and its continuing philosophical and ethical importance. This textbook will be essential reading for undergraduate philosophy students and academics interested in critical phenomenology. Post-Europe by Yuk HuiCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.25 HuiISBN: 9798985423518Publication Date: 2024Envisioning a post-European thinking: not through a neutralization of differences nor a return to tradition, but through an individuation of thinking between East and West. With the unstoppable advance of global capitalism, the Heimatlosigkeit (homelessness) which twentieth-century European philosophers spoke of--and which Heidegger declared had become the "destiny of the world"--is set to become ever more pathological in its consequences. But rather than dreaming of an impossible return to Heimat, Yuk Hui argues that today thinking must start out from the standpoint of becoming-homeless. Drawing on the philosophies of Gilbert Simondon, Jacques Derrida, Bernard Stiegler, and Jan Patočka alongside the thought of Kitaro Nishida, Keiji Nishitani, and Mou Zongsan among others, Yuk Hui envisions a project of a post-European thinking. If Asia and Europe are to devise new modes of confronting capitalism, technology, and planetarisation, this must take place neither through a neutralization of differences nor a return to tradition, but through an individuation of thinking between East and West. The Fragmentation of Being by Kris McDanielCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.31 McDaISBN: 9780198848080Publication Date: 2019The Fragmentation of Being offers answers to some of the most fundamental questions in ontology. There are many kinds of beings but are there also many kinds of being? The world contains a variety of objects, each of which, let us provisionally assume, exists, but do some objects exist in different ways? Do some objects enjoy more being or existence than other objects? Are there different ways in which one object might enjoy more being than another? Most contemporary metaphysicians would answer "no" to each of these questions. So widespread is this consensus that the questions this book addressed are rarely even raised let alone explicitly answered. But Kris McDaniel carefully examines a wide range of reasons for answering each of these questions with a "yes". In doing so, he connects these questions with many important metaphysical topics, including substance and accident, time and persistence, the nature of ontological categories, possibility and necessity, presence and absence, persons and value, ground and consequence, and essence and accident. In addition to discussing contemporary problems and theories, McDaniel also discusses the ontological views of many important figures in the history of philosophy, including Aquinas, Aristotle, Descartes, Heidegger, Husserl, Kant, Leibniz, Meinong, and many more....

Acquisitions March 2025

The science of racism : everything you need to know but probably don't -- yet by Keon WestCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 71.62 West The Personality of Power: a Theory of Fascism for Anti-fascist life by Brian MassumiCall Number: E-book via De Gruyter 50 Concepts for a Critical Phenomenology by Gail Weiss (editor); Gayle Salamon (editor); Ann V. Murphy (editor)Call Number: e-book via EBSCOhost Regimes of Violence: Toward a Political Anthropology by John ProteviCall Number: e-book via Project Muse Souveränität als Lebensform : Plessners urbane Philosophie der ModerneCall Number: e-book via Brill A Politics of Emancipation : the Miguel Abensour Reader by Martin Breaugh (editor), Paul Mazzocchi (editor)Call Number: e-book via JSTORThe Years of Theory: Postwar French Thought to the Present by Fredric JamesonCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.25 Jame...

Acquisitions February 2025

An Introduction to the Philosophy of Science by Lisa BortolottiCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.35 Bort This Is Philosophy of Science: An Introduction by Franz-Peter Griesmaier; Jeffrey A. Lockwood; Steven D. Hales (Series edited by)Call Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.35 Grie Love Troubles : A Philosophy of Eros by Federica GregorattoCall Number: e-book via De Gruyter Communism After Deleuze by Alex Taek-Gwang LeeCall Number: e-book via Bloomsbury Marxism, Revolution and Utopia by Herbert Marcuse; Douglas Kellner (Editor); Clayton Pierce (Editor)Philosophy, Psychoanalysis and Emancipation by Herbert Marcuse; Douglas Kellner (Editor); Clayton Pierce (Editor) Climate Change Litigation: Regulatory Pathways to Cleaner Energy by Jacqueline Peel; Hari M. OsofskyCall Number: e-book via Cambridge University Press The Porosity of the Self : Husserl's Philosophy of Self and Personhood by Laura Jane NanniCall Number: e-book via EBSCOhost Representing African Music: Postcolonial Notes, Queries, Positions by Kofi AgawuCall Number: e-book via Taylor & Francis The Ethics of Risk: Ethical Analysis in an Uncertain World by Sven Ove HanssonCall Number: e-book via Springer African Mind, Culture, and Technology: Philosophical Perspectives by Yamikani NdasaukaCall Number: e-book via Springer ...

Acquisitions January 2025

Being We: Phenomenological Contributions to Social Ontology by Dan ZahaviCall Number: e-book via Oxford University Press Wildlife Ethics: The ethics of wildlife management and conservation by Peter Sandoe; Clare Palmer; Bob Fischer; Christian Gamborg; Jordan HamptonCall Number: e-book via Wiley Modern Social Imaginaries by Charles Taylor; Dilip Parameshwar Gaonkar (Series edited by); Jane Kramer (Series edited by); Benjamin Lee (Series edited by); Michael Warner (Series edited by)Call Number: e-book via De Gruyter Foucault's Theatres by Tony Fisher (Editor); Kélina Gotman (Editor)Call Number: e-book via JSTOR With Power Comes Responsibility: The Politics of Structural Injustice by Maeve McKeownCall Number: e-book via BloomsburyISBN: 9781350195790Public things : democracy in disrepair by Bonnie HonigCall Number: e-book via JSTOR The Post-Truth Condition. Philosophical Reflections by Tarun Kattumana (editor), Simon Truwant (editor) Handbook of the Anthropocene : humans between heritage and future by Nathanaël Wallenhorst (editor), Christoph Wulf (editor)Call Number: e-book via Springer Teaching women philosophers : ideas and concepts from women philosophers' writings over 2000 years by Ruth Edith Hagengruber (editor)Call Number: e-book via Springer Transnational feminism in non-English speaking Europe, c.1960-1990 by Agnes Andeweg (editor), Heidi Kurvinen (editor)Call Number: e-book via Springer Ethics of Artificial Intelligence by Francisco. Lara (Editor); Jan Deckers (Editor)Call Number: e-book via Springer The Tech Coup: How to Save Democracy from Silicon Valley by Marietje Schaake Enlightenment's reformation : religion and philosophy in Germany, 1750-1830 by Michael Printy Cicero by Malcolm SchofieldCall Number: Print - 08.21 Scho Terms of Disorder: Keywords for an interregnum by Alberto ToscanoCall Number: Print - 08.45 Tosc The Powerless Church and Other Selected Writings, 1955-1985 by Ivan. Illich; Giorgio Agamben (Foreword by); Valentina Borremans (Selected by); Sajay Samuel (Selected by)Call Number: Print - 08.25 Illi ...

Acquisitions January 2025

Leave a comment