New books in the collection philosophy - LibGuides at Erasmus University Rotterdam

Humanly possible: The great humanist experiment in living by Sarah Bakewell

ISBN: 9781529924626

Spinoza, life and legacy by Jonathan I. Israel

ISBN: 9780192599421

The fold : from your body to the cosmos by Laura U. Marks

ISBN: 9781478059127

Welkom in het symbioceen: Over de verstrengeling van natuur, cultuur en techniek by Jos de Mul

ISBN: 9789024464647

The Submerged State: how invisible government policies undermine American democracy by Suzanne Mettler

ISBN: 9780226521664

Onderstroom : over publieksfilosofie en andere overdenkingen by Stine Jensen

ISBN: 9789020609004

Libertines and the Law: subversive authors and criminal justice in early seventeenth-century France by Adam Horsley

ISBN: 9780197267004

A new modern philosophy : the inclusive anthology of primary sources by Gwendolyn Marshall (Editor); Susanne J. Sreedhar (Editor)

ISBN: 9781032523835

Recent Posts

Acquisitions June 2025

Fascism : The History of a Word by Federico Marcon Call Number: e-book via De GruyterISBN: 9780226841311Publication Date: 2025 Bias : a philosophical study by Thomas Kelly Call Number: e-book via Oxford AcademicISBN: 9780192654618Publication Date: 2022 Medium Hot: Images in the Age of Heat by Hito Steyerl Call Number: University Library Open Collection - 20.06 SteyISBN: 9781804298022Publication Date: 2025What is the future of the image in the age of climate change and artificial intelligence? Hito Steyerl is one of the most celebrated artists of our time. Her work, both as an artist and a writer, has consistently challenged the political boundaries between art and technology. In this new collection of groundbreaking essays, she explores how AI, the use of large language models and the algorithmic creation of imagery transform our understanding of the world. She argues that such practices cannot be divorced from the economic and political conditions of the times. Medium Hot is a collection of scintillating meditations on the limits of art and technology: the essential handbook for the present conjuncture. The pieces here probe the manufacture and distribution of images in the age of AI and climate change. She asks whether art can be made not only by machines but for machines. She argues against the production of images that heat up the planet, disfranchise workers and fuel the arms trade, and questions whether such creations can even be called art. In an era of such rapid change, Steyerl does vital work investigating whether machine learning will infiltrate every aspect of our lives and what that means for the future. The Protestant Origen: Polemical Use and Theological Appropriation of Origen in 16th Century Patristic Anthologies by Maria Fallica Call Number: University Open Collection - 11.55 FallISBN: 9783402137581Publication Date: 2022At the outbreak of the Reformations, the need for stable and authoritative support was acutely felt on all sides, engaged as they were in a conflict of interpretations of the core of Christianity. Patristic anthologies were the perfect tool for the roles of polemical weapons and doctrinal handbooks, as they selected apt passages from the Fathers of the Church to prove, explain and promote the articles of the new confessions of faith and testify to antiquity. In a paradigm dominated by the figure of Augustine, whose exegesis of Scripture and understanding of the Gospel was very important for many Reformers, these anthologies tried to demonstrate the broad consensus of the majority of the ancient writers with the doctrines advocated by them. This volume offers an original perspective on the reception of Origen of Alexandria, one of the most profound and influential philosophers and exegetes of Late Antiquity, in three patristic anthologies of the 16th century. It explores how the voice of Origen, who was recognized by Luther and Melanchthon as a staunch opponent of their doctrines, is harmonized with the theological stances of the anthologies. The anomaly represented by the proposed image of a "Protestant Origen" helps us to decipher larger trends of the European Reformations, in their relationship with authority and memory. The Bergsonian Mind by Mark Sinclair, Yoran Wolf Call Number: University Library Open Collection - 08.25 SincISBN: 9781032137650Publication Date: 2022 Enfants d'Hermès : Voyage, Altérités et Réception de l'antique by Albrecht Burkardt ; Laurence Bernard-Pradelle, François Brizay Call Number: University Library Open Collection - 74.15 BurkISBN: 9782406177159Publication Date: 2025...

Acquisitions May 2025

The age of diagnosis : sickness, health and why medicine has gone too far by Suzanne O'SullivanCall Number: University Library Open Collection - 44.50 TullISBN: 9781399727655Publication Date: 2025 Christoph Wittich (1625-1687): reformierte Theologie unter dem Einfluss von René Descartes by Kai-Ole EberhardtCall Number: University Library Closed StacksISBN: 9783525552834Die epochale Bedeutung des Denkens von Rene Descartes ist fur die Philosophie- und Geistesgeschichte der Neuzeit unbestritten. In welch hohem Masse auch die reformierte Theologie die neue Philosophie des 17. Jahrhunderts aufgenommen und diskutiert hat, zeigt Kai-Ole Eberhardts Analyse von Leben und Werk des Theologieprofessors Christoph Wittich. Wittich reprasentiert eine Gruppe von Gelehrten, die von der Bedeutung Descartes' zutiefst uberzeugt waren und sich gegen grossen Widerstand aus Kirche und Theologie fur die Rezeption des cartesianischen Wissenschafts- und Weltbildes eingesetzt haben. Der Verlauf von Wittichs Karriere, ausgehend von seinem Studium in den Niederlanden uber Professuren in Herborn, Duisburg, Nijmegen und Leiden, illustriert die Entstehung eines cartesianischen Gelehrtennetzwerkes und dessen Auseinandersetzungen mit Vertretern einer anticartesianischen Theologie. Eine detaillierte Analyse der Hauptwerke Wittichs gewahrt Einblicke in die Entstehung einer Theologie, die sowohl beansprucht, reformiert-orthodox zu sein als auch dem modernen Wissenschaftskonzept des Cartesianismus zu entsprechen. Animals: A History by Peter Adamson (Editor); G. Fay Edwards (Editor)Call Number: University Library Open Collection - 08.20 AdamISBN: 9780199375974Philosophical controversy over non-human animals extends further back than many realize - before Utilitarianism and Darwinism to the very genesis of philosophy. This volume examines the richness and complexity of that long history. Twelve essays trace the significance of animals from Greek and Indian antiquity through the Islamic and Latin medieval traditions, to Renaissance and early modern thought, ending with contemporary notions about animals. Two main questions emerge throughout the volume: what capacities can be ascribed to animals, and how should we treat them? Notoriously ungenerous attitudes towards animals' mental lives and ethics status, found for instance in Aristotle and Descartes, are shown to have been more nuanced than often supposed, while remarkable defenses of benevolence towards animals are unearthed in late antiquity, India, the Islamic world, and Kant. Other chapters examine cannibalism and vegetarianism in Renaissance thought, and the scientific testing of animals. A series of interdisciplinary reflections sheds further light on human attitudes towards animals, looking at their depiction in visual artworks from China, Africa, and Europe, as well as the rich tradition of animal fables beginning with Aesop....

Acquisitions April 2025

The Twilight of Politics by Mario TrontiCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.45 TronISBN: 9781803093741A classic work of political theory by a major twentieth-century figure of the Italian Left. Italian political thinker Mario Tronti is most famous for being the author of Workers and Capital, which became the central theoretical formulation of Italian operaismo or workerism, a current of political thought emerging in the 1960s that revolutionized the institutional and extra-parliamentary Left in Italy and beyond. In The Twilight of Politics, written originally in 1998, Tronti argues that modern politics, which reached its apogee in the twentieth century, has ended. Realism and Utopia, Tronti explains, were the foundational qualities of modern politics, which it always tried to clasp together. But behind this highwater mark of politics was a history over the longue durée, encompassing the wars of religion, Hobbes' Leviathan, revolution, great individuals, and popular movements, as well as innovations such as the nation-state and the party-form. Historically, the modern period is also a coming together of the categories of the political and the laws of political economy. At the heart of this book is Tronti's attempt to hold together a view of the course of political history with a critique of the "dictatorship of the present" to help us escape being "chained to the bars of an eternal present . . . which deprives us both of the freedom to look back and to see ahead." Critical Phenomenology: an Introduction by Elisa Magrì; Paddy McQueenCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.25 MagrISBN: 9781509541126Publication Date: 2022Phenomenology is one of the leading movements in twentieth-century philosophy and continues to exert a strong influence on many contemporary philosophical traditions and investigations. In recent years, phenomenological insights have been increasingly developed in relation to philosophy of illness, disability, race, gender, sexuality, and politics, leading to the emergence of critical phenomenology as a new, prominent field for interdisciplinary research. Magrì and McQueen's Critical Phenomenology: An Introduction is the first book of its kind, addressing the critical questions at the core of both classical and contemporary phenomenology. This book provides a concise, accessible introduction to key areas of phenomenological research, such as intersubjectivity, bodily experience, race, gender, social experience, and political action. In doing so, it demonstrates both the rich history of phenomenology and its continuing philosophical and ethical importance. This textbook will be essential reading for undergraduate philosophy students and academics interested in critical phenomenology. Post-Europe by Yuk HuiCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.25 HuiISBN: 9798985423518Publication Date: 2024Envisioning a post-European thinking: not through a neutralization of differences nor a return to tradition, but through an individuation of thinking between East and West. With the unstoppable advance of global capitalism, the Heimatlosigkeit (homelessness) which twentieth-century European philosophers spoke of--and which Heidegger declared had become the "destiny of the world"--is set to become ever more pathological in its consequences. But rather than dreaming of an impossible return to Heimat, Yuk Hui argues that today thinking must start out from the standpoint of becoming-homeless. Drawing on the philosophies of Gilbert Simondon, Jacques Derrida, Bernard Stiegler, and Jan Patočka alongside the thought of Kitaro Nishida, Keiji Nishitani, and Mou Zongsan among others, Yuk Hui envisions a project of a post-European thinking. If Asia and Europe are to devise new modes of confronting capitalism, technology, and planetarisation, this must take place neither through a neutralization of differences nor a return to tradition, but through an individuation of thinking between East and West. The Fragmentation of Being by Kris McDanielCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.31 McDaISBN: 9780198848080Publication Date: 2019The Fragmentation of Being offers answers to some of the most fundamental questions in ontology. There are many kinds of beings but are there also many kinds of being? The world contains a variety of objects, each of which, let us provisionally assume, exists, but do some objects exist in different ways? Do some objects enjoy more being or existence than other objects? Are there different ways in which one object might enjoy more being than another? Most contemporary metaphysicians would answer "no" to each of these questions. So widespread is this consensus that the questions this book addressed are rarely even raised let alone explicitly answered. But Kris McDaniel carefully examines a wide range of reasons for answering each of these questions with a "yes". In doing so, he connects these questions with many important metaphysical topics, including substance and accident, time and persistence, the nature of ontological categories, possibility and necessity, presence and absence, persons and value, ground and consequence, and essence and accident. In addition to discussing contemporary problems and theories, McDaniel also discusses the ontological views of many important figures in the history of philosophy, including Aquinas, Aristotle, Descartes, Heidegger, Husserl, Kant, Leibniz, Meinong, and many more....

Acquisitions March 2025

The science of racism : everything you need to know but probably don't -- yet by Keon WestCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 71.62 West The Personality of Power: a Theory of Fascism for Anti-fascist life by Brian MassumiCall Number: E-book via De Gruyter 50 Concepts for a Critical Phenomenology by Gail Weiss (editor); Gayle Salamon (editor); Ann V. Murphy (editor)Call Number: e-book via EBSCOhost Regimes of Violence: Toward a Political Anthropology by John ProteviCall Number: e-book via Project Muse Souveränität als Lebensform : Plessners urbane Philosophie der ModerneCall Number: e-book via Brill A Politics of Emancipation : the Miguel Abensour Reader by Martin Breaugh (editor), Paul Mazzocchi (editor)Call Number: e-book via JSTORThe Years of Theory: Postwar French Thought to the Present by Fredric JamesonCall Number: Print - University Library Open Collection - 08.25 Jame...

Acquisitions April 2024

Leave a comment